The NephJC Kidneys Slate is set

Thank you for participation with the nominations. We had a great response!

Here are the official nominations for 2019. Take a look around and then go and vote. The public gets to vote for:

  • Article of the Year

  • Visual Abstract

  • Nathan Hellman Social Media Project of the Year

The NephJC Work Group votes on Engaged Researcher of the Year, Rookie of the Year and MVP.

The CJASN NephJC Best Visual Abstract (new)


Visual abstracts are improving science communication but let’s face it, not all visual abstracts are created equal. Let’s find the best visual abstract for a nephrology study. This award is in partnership with CJASN.

Sinead Stoneman for this MENTOR visual Abstract for NephJC


Tejas Desai for this Advancing American Kidney Health infographic


Tejas Desai with another infographic


Divya Bajpai for this visual abstract on the diagnosis of pheochromocytoma and paraganglioma


Angel Cesar Ortiz did this visual abstract for ISN World Congress


Omar Taco for this ASCEND Visual Abstract


Aakash Shingada was nominated for this “live” visual abstract


Another one by Aakaash, but this time a traditional visual abstract looking at Melamine exposure and CKD


Michelle Lim with this masterpiece on Steve Coca’s hypernatremia article


Another one by Michelle Lim


Nathan Hellman Social Media Project of the Year

The Nate Hellman prize is intended to award a project that is making waves and is going to have a positive impact on #NephTwitter. Often, projects take some time to get going and reach their stride, so we do not want to limit this category to projects started in 2019, but we do want to limit it to projects that have broken through in the last year. So NephMadness is not eligible, but NephSIM is.

Landmark Nephrology



#NephroWorldCup by Tejas Desai and Xavier Vela

ISN Education Quizzes by Divya Bajpai

Arvind Canchi for Nuances in Nephrology Webinar Series

Medicina de Impacto

Sayed A Tabatabai with his tweet stories

Engaged Researcher of the Year

One of the great things about NephJC is participation by authors in the chats. But some investigators really go beyond the call of duty to participate. This is where we recognize that commitment.

Steven Coca for Hypernatremia study

Amaka Eneanya for use of race in eGFR calculations

Fernando Fervenza and Laurence H Beck, Jr for MENTOR

Ben Humphreys for single cell transcriptomics papers

Past winner, Katalin Susztak for single cell transcriptomics papers

Rajnish Mehrotra for ASCEND

Vlado Perkovic for CREDENCE

Moran Dvela-Levitt from the MUC-1 chat

NephJC Most Valuable Player.

We appreciate every person that comes to and participates in NephJC, but some people really add a lot of value to the chats. The MVP is for the best NephJC participant in the last year.

Steven Coca

Aisha Shaikh

Jennie Lin

Swapnil Hiremath

Samira Farouk

Joshua Waitzman

Carlo Alfieri