The finalists for the Second Annual NephJC Kidneys

Thanks for the amazing participation following our call for nominations for the NephJC Kidney Awards. NephTwitter once again has answered the call. Your participation is what makes working in nephrology social media so rewarding.

Though we did not announce any rules, we do not award NephJC Kidneys to members of the NephJC work group, that said two of our team were nominated this year so we'd like to give a shout out to Dearbhla Kelly and Benjamin Stewart. Both of them graduated in the second NSMC intern class and have continued to do great work for NephJC as hosts at short notice and helping with the PubMed comments (DK) and the Storify archiving (BS). Thank you.

With no further ado, here are your nominees for the 2017 NephJC Kidneys...

Rookie of the Year

Devika Nair

Pablo Garcia

Bea Concepcion

Cathy Quinlan

Juan Carlos Q Velez

Jay R. Seltzer

Engaged Investigator of the Year

Jonathan Himmelfarb

Liz Lightstone

Katalyn Susztak

Sherry Mansour

Jessica Sheehan Tangren

Laurie Tomlinson

Charlie Tomson


Roger Rodby

Arvind Canchi

Krishna Penmatsa

Rob Peel

Study/Publication of the Year

Increased salt consumption induces body water conservation and decreases fluid intake

Estimating the Risk of Radiocontrast-Associated Nephropathy.

Prophylactic hydration to protect renal function from intravascular iodinated contrast material in patients at high risk of contrast-induced nephropathy (AMACING): a prospective, randomised, phase 3, controlled, open-label, non-inferiority trial Amacing Trial

Serum creatinine elevation after renin-angiotensin system blockade and long term cardiorenal risks: cohort study.

Canagliflozin and Cardiovascular and Renal Events in Type 2 Diabetes. Canvas

Transgenic expression of human APOL1 risk variants in podocytes induces kidney disease in mice.

Nathan Hellman Social Media Project of the Year

GlomCon Initiative

Everyday Cases in Nephrology #ECNeph

Last Month in Nephrology

Visual Abstracts

Arkana Labs Social Media initiatives

ASN (for their revised social media guidelines for Kidney Week)

ISN Education

Urinalysis Tweeters (@swissnephro@VelezNephHepato & @jrseltzer)

The first three categories are determined by the NephJC Work group. The last two are open votes with everybody in the community eligible to vote for their favorites. So what are you waiting for, go vote!

Congratulations to all of the nominees, and be sure to join us in New Orleans for the award ceremony and good fun.

Screenshot 2017-10-17 09.41.53.png